Short answer: most North American resorts plan to open between November 6 and November 27, 2026, with Keystone, Arapahoe Basin and Winter Park racing to open in October. In the Alps the Solden, Hintertux, Stubai and Kitzsteinhorn glaciers are already open, Zermatt's winter season starts November 1, and most big French and Swiss resorts open between November 28 and December 12. Niseko opens November 28.
Every date below comes from the resort's own website, press release or official pass partner page, and every row links to that source so you can check it yourself. Resorts call these dates "planned", "tentative" or "targeted" for a reason: a dry November pushes openings back a week or two, a big October storm pulls them forward. We re-check the list every few days until the last resort opens and update the "last checked" date above each time something changes. Where a resort has not published a 2026/27 date yet, we say so and give last season's actual date instead of guessing. Click a column heading to sort each table.
How to read the closing column. Almost no resort commits to a closing date in October. Where we show one it is either an official 2026/27 date (Telluride, most Alpine resorts, Niseko) or last spring's actual closing, which is a reasonable guide but not a promise. Early-season tickets at most resorts are discounted and often limited to a handful of runs, so the "planned opening" is the date lifts first turn, not the date the whole mountain is open.
Vail Resorts announced its 2026/27 dates on August 18 and Alterra followed for the Ikon resorts on September 17, so most of the big names are set. Colorado's high-altitude snowmaking resorts (Keystone, Arapahoe Basin, Winter Park, Loveland) do not name a date at all and simply open as soon as they can hold a top-to-bottom run, which in recent years has meant late October. Most of the rest of the West targets the two weekends before Thanksgiving, the East follows a week or two later, and ski-only Deer Valley plus Revelstoke wait for early December.
| Resort | Planned opening 2026/27 | Planned closing | Pass | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Keystone, Colorado Aiming to be first in North America again; opened Oct 25 in 2025 | As soon as possible in October (no fixed date) | Not announced; closed Apr 5, 2026 | Epic | news.vailresorts.com |
| Arapahoe Basin, Colorado Opened Oct 26 in 2025 | ASAP in October (no fixed date) | Not announced; closed May 17, 2026 | Ikon | arapahoebasin.com |
| Winter Park, Colorado Opened Nov 7 in 2025 | As soon as possible (no fixed date) | Not announced; closed Apr 19, 2026 | Ikon | winterparkresort.com |
| Loveland, Colorado Five-year average opening around Nov 5 | Late October to early November | Not announced; closed Apr 26, 2026 | Own pass | skiloveland.com |
| Breckenridge, Colorado Subject to weather and conditions | Nov 6, 2026 | Not announced; ran to May 10, 2026 | Epic | news.vailresorts.com |
| Copper Mountain, Colorado | Nov 6, 2026 | Not announced; closed Apr 26, 2026 | Ikon | alterramtn.co |
| Banff Sunshine, Alberta Opened Nov 2 in 2025, its earliest ever | Nov 6, 2026 (tentative) | Not announced; closed May 18, 2026 | Ikon, Mountain Collective | skibig3.com |
| Lake Louise, Alberta | Nov 6, 2026 (tentative) | Not announced; closed May 3, 2026 | Ikon, Mountain Collective | skibig3.com |
| Vail, Colorado Subject to weather and conditions | Nov 13, 2026 | Not announced; closed Apr 19, 2026 | Epic | news.vailresorts.com |
| Mammoth Mountain, California Regularly runs into late May or June | Nov 13, 2026 | Not announced; targeted late May in 2026 | Ikon | mammothmountain.com |
| Killington, Vermont Opened Nov 12 in 2025, first in the East | Early November (no fixed date, by policy) | No fixed date; ran weekends to May 25, 2026 | Ikon | killington.com |
| Alta, Utah Ski-only resort | Nov 20, 2026 (tentative) | Not announced; closed Apr 26, 2026 | Ikon, Mountain Collective | ikonpass.com |
| Park City Mountain, Utah Subject to weather and conditions | Nov 20, 2026 | Not announced; closed Apr 5, 2026 | Epic | news.vailresorts.com |
| Whistler Blackcomb, BC | Nov 20, 2026 | Not announced; Whistler Apr 19 and Blackcomb May 18 in 2026 | Epic | news.vailresorts.com |
| Northstar California | Nov 20, 2026 | Not announced; typically mid-April | Epic | news.vailresorts.com |
| Heavenly, California/Nevada | Nov 20, 2026 | Not announced; typically mid to late April | Epic | news.vailresorts.com |
| Solitude, Utah | Nov 20, 2026 | Not announced; closed May 17, 2026 | Ikon | alterramtn.co |
| Steamboat, Colorado | Nov 21, 2026 | Not announced; closed Apr 12, 2026 | Ikon | alterramtn.co |
| Sun Peaks, BC | Nov 21, 2026 | Not announced; closed Apr 6, 2026 | Ikon, Mountain Collective | sunpeaksresort.com |
| Big Sky, Montana | Nov 25, 2026 | Not announced; closed Apr 26, 2026 | Ikon, Mountain Collective | bigskyresort.com |
| Palisades Tahoe, California | Nov 25, 2026 (tentative) | Not announced; closed May 24, 2026 | Ikon | ikonpass.com |
| Beaver Creek, Colorado | Nov 25, 2026 | Not announced; closed Apr 12, 2026 | Epic | news.vailresorts.com |
| Crested Butte, Colorado | Nov 25, 2026 | Not announced; closed Apr 5, 2026 | Epic | news.vailresorts.com |
| Stratton Mountain, Vermont | Nov 25, 2026 (tentative) | Not announced; typically mid-April | Ikon | ikonpass.com |
| Aspen Snowmass, Colorado Thanksgiving opening | Nov 26, 2026 (Aspen Mountain and Snowmass); Highlands and Buttermilk Dec 12 | Not announced; Aspen Mountain Apr 19 and Snowmass Apr 11 in 2026 | Ikon, Mountain Collective | ikonpass.com |
| Taos Ski Valley, New Mexico Thanksgiving opening | Nov 26, 2026 | Not announced; closed Mar 29, 2026 | Ikon, Mountain Collective | taosskivalley.com |
| Telluride, Colorado The only resort here with an official 2026/27 closing date | Nov 26, 2026 (targeted) | Apr 4, 2027 (announced) | Epic | tellurideskiresort.com |
| Tremblant, Quebec | Nov 26, 2026 (tentative) | Not announced; typically mid-April | Ikon | ikonpass.com |
| Sun Valley, Idaho | Nov 26, 2026 | Not announced; typically mid-April | Ikon, Mountain Collective | sunvalley.com |
| Snowbird, Utah | Nov 27, 2026 (tentative) | Not announced; closed May 25, 2026 | Ikon, Mountain Collective | ikonpass.com |
| Jackson Hole, Wyoming | Nov 27, 2026 (tentative) | Not announced; closed Apr 12, 2026 | Ikon, Mountain Collective | ikonpass.com |
| Snowbasin, Utah | Nov 27, 2026 (tentative) | Not announced; closed early on Mar 22, 2026 | Ikon, Mountain Collective | ikonpass.com |
| Smugglers' Notch, Vermont | Not yet announced; opened Nov 28 in 2025 | Not announced | Own pass | smuggs.com |
| Bretton Woods, New Hampshire | Not yet announced; typically mid-November | Not announced | Own pass | brettonwoods.com |
| Stowe, Vermont Vail Resorts says more dates will follow | Not yet announced; opened Nov 22 in 2025 | Not announced; closed Apr 16, 2026 | Epic | stowe.com |
| Brighton, Utah | Not yet announced; opened Nov 13 in 2025 | Not announced; closed May 3, 2026 | Ikon | brightonresort.com |
| Mt. Bachelor, Oregon | Dec 4, 2026 (tentative) | Not announced; typically late May | Ikon | ikonpass.com |
| Deer Valley, Utah Ski-only resort; opened Dec 1 in 2025 | Dec 5, 2026 (tentative) | Not announced | Ikon | ikonpass.com |
| Revelstoke, BC | Dec 5, 2026 | Not announced; closed Apr 12, 2026 | Ikon, Mountain Collective | revelstokemountainresort.com |
Europe opens in three waves. Austria's glacier areas are already running: Hintertux spun lifts on October 2 and Solden, Stubai and Kitzsteinhorn followed the second weekend of October, with Cervinia, Engelberg and Saas-Fee due before the end of the month and Zermatt's winter season starting November 1. The second wave is the high, snowmaking-heavy resorts in late November: Kitzbuhel's snow-farmed Resterkogel run, Val Thorens, Ischgl, Obergurgl and the Jungfrau region. The third wave, from the first weekend of December into mid-December, is the mass of French and Swiss resorts that wait for real snow: Courchevel, Verbier, Les Arcs, La Plagne, Avoriaz, Megeve and Morzine.
| Resort | Planned opening 2026/27 | Planned closing | Pass | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hintertux Glacier, Austria | Open now (glacier opened Oct 2, 2026); valley areas Dec 4 | Glacier runs year round | Epic (with Mayrhofen) | hintertuxergletscher.at |
| Solden, Austria World Cup opener Oct 24 to 25, 2026 | Open now (glacier opened Oct 9, 2026); Giggijoch from Nov 12 | May 2, 2027 | Epic | soelden.com |
| Stubai Glacier, Austria | Open now (Oct 9, 2026) | Not stated; typically May | None | stubaier-gletscher.com |
| Kitzsteinhorn (Kaprun), Austria | Open now (Oct 10, 2026) | Not stated; ski card valid to May 2, 2027 | Epic (Saalbach and Zell am See-Kaprun) | kitzsteinhorn.at |
| Zermatt, Switzerland Glacier skiing available year round | Nov 1, 2026 (winter season on the glacier side); Sunnegga-Rothorn and Gornergrat Nov 28 | May 3, 2027 (glacier side); Sunnegga-Rothorn Apr 11, Gornergrat Apr 18 | Ikon | matterhornparadise.ch |
| Cervinia, Italy Linked with Zermatt | Oct 24, 2026; Valtournenche Nov 28 | May 2, 2027; Valtournenche Apr 25 | Ikon (Valle d'Aosta) | cervinia.it |
| Engelberg-Titlis, Switzerland Lower Jochpass and Trubsee open later | Oct 24, 2026 (glacier, postponed from Oct 10) | May 2, 2027 | None | titlis.ch |
| Saas-Fee, Switzerland | Oct 31, 2026 (Alpin Express, weekends first then daily) | Not stated; typically mid-April | Magic Pass | saas-fee.ch |
| Kitzbuhel, Austria Usually the first non-glacier Alpine opening | Nov 6, 2026 (Resterkogel weekends); Hahnenkamm daily from Nov 27/28; full area Dec 11 | Apr 4, 2027 | Ikon | kitzski.at |
| Andermatt, Switzerland | Not yet confirmed on the official site; mid-November expected (Gemsstock) | Not announced; typically mid to late April | Epic | andermatt-sedrun-disentis.ch |
| Davos Klosters, Switzerland Rinerhorn and Pischa closed Jan 18 to 22 for the WEF | Nov 13 to 15, 2026 (Parsenn weekend), daily from Nov 20; Jakobshorn Dec 4; Madrisa and Rinerhorn Dec 18 | Apr 4, 2027 (Parsenn); Apr 11 (Jakobshorn) | None | davosklostersmountains.ch |
| Obergurgl, Austria | Nov 19, 2026 | Apr 18, 2027 | None | gurgl.com |
| Val Thorens, France | Nov 21, 2026 | May 2, 2027 | Epic (Les 3 Vallees) | valthorens.com |
| Tignes, France | Not yet on the official site; Nov 21 widely reported (opened Nov 22 in 2025) | Not announced; closed May 3, 2026 | None | en.tignes.net |
| Grindelwald-Wengen, Switzerland | Nov 21, 2026 (Wengen, Kleine Scheidegg, Mannlichen); Grindelwald side Dec 12; First Dec 19 | Apr 25, 2027 (upper area); Apr 4 (lower area) | None | jungfrau.ch |
| Ischgl, Austria Opening concert Nov 28 | Nov 26, 2026 | May 2, 2027 | Ikon | ischgl.com |
| Chamonix, France | Nov 28, 2026 (Grands Montets, Flegere); Brevent and Balme Dec 12; Les Houches Dec 19 | May 2, 2027 (Grands Montets); Apr 18 most other areas | Ikon, Mountain Collective | chamonix.com |
| Val d'Isere, France | Nov 28, 2026 | May 2, 2027 | None | valdisere.com |
| Les Deux Alpes, France Glacier autumn skiing runs separately | Nov 28, 2026 | May 2, 2027 | None | les2alpes.com |
| Livigno, Italy | Nov 28, 2026 | Early May 2027 (price list runs to May 2) | None | livigno.eu |
| Courmayeur, Italy | Nov 28, 2026 | Apr 11, 2027 | Ikon (Valle d'Aosta) | courmayeur-montblanc.com |
| Arosa Lenzerheide, Switzerland | Nov 28, 2026 (partial pre-season; full from Dec 19) | Apr 11, 2027 | None | arosalenzerheide.swiss |
| Laax, Switzerland | Nov 28, 2026 (pre-season); main season Dec 18 | Apr 11, 2027 | None | laax.com |
| St. Moritz, Switzerland | Nov 28, 2026 (Corviglia); Corvatsch Nov 21; Diavolezza Oct 17 | Apr 4, 2027 (Corviglia); Corvatsch Apr 25; Diavolezza May 2 | Ikon | engadin.ch |
| Baqueira Beret, Spain | Not confirmed by the resort; Nov 28 reported | Not announced; early April typical | None | baqueira.es |
| Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy | Not yet announced (Dolomiti Superski season starts Nov 28; Cortina opened Nov 22 in 2025) | Not announced; ran to May 3, 2026 | Ikon (Dolomiti Superski) | dolomitisuperski.com |
| Lech Zurs, Austria | Dec 2, 2026 | Apr 18, 2027 | Epic (Ski Arlberg, lodging required) | skiarlberg.at |
| St. Anton, Austria Ski Open event Dec 4 to 6 | Dec 2, 2026 | Apr 18, 2027 | Epic (Ski Arlberg, lodging required) | skiarlberg.at |
| Madonna di Campiglio, Italy | Not confirmed by the lift company; Dec 3 reported (Groste opened early on Nov 22 in 2025) | Apr 4, 2027 (reported) | Epic (Skirama Dolomiti) | campigliodolomiti.it |
| Courchevel, France | Dec 4, 2026 | Apr 18, 2027 | Epic (Les 3 Vallees) | courchevel.com |
| Mayrhofen, Austria | Dec 4, 2026 (Penken); Ahorn Dec 12 | Apr 11, 2027 (Penken); Ahorn Apr 4 | Epic (with Hintertux) | mayrhofen.at |
| Val Gardena, Italy | Dec 4, 2026 | Apr 4, 2027 | Ikon (Dolomiti Superski) | dolomitisuperski.com |
| Alpe d'Huez, France Tomorrowland Winter Mar 20 to 27, 2027 | Dec 5, 2026 (subject to snow) | Not confirmed; late April typical | None | alpedhuez.com |
| Verbier, Switzerland Savoleyres and Bruson from Dec 12 | Dec 5, 2026 (official season launch); November weekend openings possible | Apr 25, 2027 (Verbier sector) | Epic (5 consecutive days, peak dates restricted) | verbier4vallees.ch |
| Serre Chevalier, France | Dec 5, 2026; Briancon Dec 12 | Apr 18, 2027; Briancon Apr 4 | None | serre-chevalier.com |
| Avoriaz, France | Dec 11, 2026 | Apr 18, 2027 | None | morzine-avoriaz.com |
| Les Arcs, France Paradiski link with La Plagne opens the same day | Dec 12, 2026 | Apr 24, 2027 | None | lesarcs.com |
| La Plagne, France | Dec 12, 2026 | Apr 24, 2027 (Plagne Altitude); Apr 17 lower villages | None | la-plagne.com |
| Bansko, Bulgaria World Cup Jan 16 to 17, 2027 | Not yet announced; opened Dec 13 in 2025 | Not announced | None | banskoski.com |
| Megeve, France | Dec 19, 2026 (general opening); partial from Dec 5 to 6 weekend | Not confirmed; early April typical | Ikon (new), Mountain Collective | megeve-tourisme.fr |
| Morzine, France | Dec 19, 2026 (Pleney, Nyon); Avoriaz sector Dec 11 | Apr 4, 2027 | None | morzine-avoriaz.com |
| Gulmarg, India Snow dependent; gondola phase 2 opens later | Not announced; typically late December | Mar 31 (gondola), surface lifts Mar 15 | None | skigulmarg.com |
Hokkaido's big names have settled on the last weekend of November again. Niseko United, Furano, Rusutsu, Nozawa Onsen and Kiroro all list November 28, 2026, and Niseko's four areas run on a single all-mountain pass through to May 5. Hakuba Valley is the exception: Goryu has announced a November 21 start on one lift, but Happo-One and the other Hakuba areas only say "December" so far, after last season ended early on April 19 with a sudden melt. Myoko's Akakura Onsen opens December 12.
| Resort | Planned opening 2026/27 | Planned closing | Pass | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hakuba Goryu, Japan Other Hakuba Valley areas: scheduled opening in December 2026 | Nov 21, 2026 (Toomi No.1 lift area only) | Around early May 2027 | Epic | hakubaescal.com |
| Niseko United, Japan (Grand Hirafu, Hanazono, Village, Annupuri) Night skiing Dec 12, 2026 to Mar 22, 2027 | Nov 28, 2026 (all four areas) | May 5, 2027 (Grand Hirafu and Annupuri); Apr 11 (Hanazono); Apr 4 (Village) | Ikon, Mountain Collective | niseko.ne.jp |
| Furano, Japan | Nov 28, 2026 (tentative) | Not announced; early May typical | Ikon | princehotels.com |
| Rusutsu, Japan Ran Nov 29, 2025 to Mar 30, 2026 last season | Nov 28, 2026 (winter hotel season start; ski dates not yet posted) | Mar 30, 2027 (winter hotel season) | Epic | rusutsu.com |
| Nozawa Onsen, Japan Season pass valid from the planned opening | Nov 28, 2026 | May 5, 2027 | None | nozawaski.com |
| Kiroro, Japan High season Dec 12 to Apr 11 | Nov 28, 2026 | May 5, 2027 | Indy Pass, Powder Alliance | kiroro.co.jp |
| Shiga Kogen, Japan 18 areas on one ticket | Dec 5, 2026 (common ticket); Yakebitaiyama Dec 4 | May 5, 2027 | Ikon (Yakebitaiyama) | shigakogen-ski.or.jp |
| Hakuba Happo-One, Japan 2025/26 season ended Apr 19 after an early melt | Scheduled in December 2026 (exact day not yet published) | March to early May 2027 | Epic (Hakuba Valley) | happo-one.jp |
| Myoko Kogen (Akakura Onsen), Japan Akakura Kanko: mid-December, exact date pending | Dec 12, 2026 (planned) | Mar 31, 2027 (planned) | None | akakura-ski.com |
The southern winter of 2026 was a story of slow starts and record-late finishes. Thredbo and Perisher opened on schedule on June 6 but Thredbo closed three weeks early on September 13, while the Chilean Andes did the opposite: Portillo postponed its opening twice before finally spinning lifts on July 4, then stayed open to October 11, and Valle Nevado skied until November 8, the latest close in its history. Only Thredbo and Cardrona have published tentative 2027 windows so far.
| Resort | Planned opening 2026/27 | Planned closing | Pass | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thredbo, Australia Opened Jun 6, 2026 | 2027 season pass valid Jun 12 to Oct 4, 2027 | 2026 season closed early on Sep 13 | Ikon | thredbo.com.au |
| Perisher, Australia Opened Jun 6, 2026 | 2027 not yet announced; June long weekend typical | 2026 season ended Sep 25 | Epic | perisher.com.au |
| Coronet Peak and The Remarkables, New Zealand Remarkables opened late (Jun 27) in 2026 after poor early snow | 2027 not yet announced; late May to late June typical | 2026: Coronet Peak Oct 4, Remarkables Oct 11 | Ikon, Mountain Collective | coronetpeak.co.nz |
| Cardrona, New Zealand Opened Jun 26, 2026 | Jun 12 to Oct 10, 2027 (tentative) | 2026 season extended to Oct 18 | Own pass | cardrona-treblecone.com |
| Portillo, Chile Opened Jul 4, 2026 after two postponements | 2027 not yet announced; late June typical | 2026 season extended to Oct 11 | None | skiportillo.com |
| Valle Nevado, Chile Opened Jun 19, 2026 | 2027 not yet announced; mid to late June typical | 2026 season extended to Nov 8, its latest ever | Ikon, Mountain Collective | vallenevado.com |
If you want to ski in October, the realistic list is short: the Austrian and Swiss glaciers above (lift tickets there run roughly 60 to 80 euros a day, cheaper than mid-winter), Zermatt's year-round glacier, and whichever of Keystone and Arapahoe Basin wins Colorado's annual race. In early November add Kitzbuhel's weekend-only Resterkogel run, Breckenridge, Copper, Banff Sunshine and Lake Louise. By the weekend of November 20 to 22 roughly half of the resorts on this page are open, and by December 12 almost all of them are. At the other end, the longest planned seasons are Zermatt, Val Thorens, Val d'Isere, Les Deux Alpes, Ischgl and Cervinia in Europe (all to May 2 or 3, 2027), Niseko Grand Hirafu and Annupuri in Japan (May 5), and Mammoth, Snowbird, Palisades Tahoe and Arapahoe Basin in North America, which routinely run into late May.
The pass column shows the multi-resort pass each resort honours for 2026/27, which matters most for early-season trips: our full Epic vs Ikon comparison is coming later this month, but the short version is that Epic covers Vail, Breckenridge, Keystone, Park City, Whistler, Telluride and the Alpine partners Les 3 Vallees (Courchevel and Val Thorens), Verbier, Ski Arlberg (St. Anton and Lech), Solden, Mayrhofen-Hintertux and Hakuba, while Ikon covers Alta, Snowbird, Jackson Hole, Aspen, Big Sky, Mammoth, Palisades, Steamboat, Revelstoke and the Alpine partners Zermatt, Chamonix, Megeve, Kitzbuhel, Ischgl, St. Moritz and the Dolomiti Superski and Valle d'Aosta areas, plus Niseko and Furano in Japan. Mountain Collective overlaps heavily with Ikon's destination resorts (Alta, Snowbird, Jackson Hole, Aspen, Big Sky, Revelstoke, Niseko, Chamonix, Megeve) at two days each. Verbier and Ski Arlberg have the tightest restrictions on Epic (consecutive days only, and a lodging booking at Arlberg), so read the fine print before planning an Alpine week around a pass.
Early season means thin cover, exposed rocks and cold, variable snow. Three guides worth reading before you go: a sturdy, forgiving pair of all-mountain skis you will not mind scratching on a November rock, a helmet for the hard, man-made snow that defines opening weekend, and the right goggle lens for flat light and short December days. Our ski trip packing list covers the rest.
In Europe the glaciers already have: Hintertux (October 2), Solden and Stubai (October 9) and Kitzsteinhorn (October 10) are open now, with Cervinia and Engelberg due October 24 and Zermatt's winter season on November 1. In North America it will be Keystone or Arapahoe Basin, both of which open "as soon as possible" in late October; Keystone opened October 25 in 2025 and Arapahoe Basin the day after.
Vail Resorts has announced November 13, 2026 for Vail, November 6 for Breckenridge, November 20 for Park City, Whistler Blackcomb, Northstar and Heavenly, and November 25 for Beaver Creek and Crested Butte, all subject to weather and conditions. Keystone opens without a fixed date as soon as it can.
All four Niseko United areas (Grand Hirafu, Hanazono, Niseko Village and Annupuri) are scheduled to open on November 28, 2026. Grand Hirafu and Annupuri plan to run until May 5, 2027, Hanazono until April 11 and Niseko Village until April 4, and night skiing runs from December 12 to March 22.
No. Every resort publishes them as planned, tentative or targeted dates, and all of them depend on snowfall and snowmaking temperatures. Snowmaking-heavy resorts at altitude (Colorado, Austria's glaciers, Val Thorens) hit their dates most years; lower resorts that rely on natural snow (Morzine, Bansko, much of Vermont) are the ones most likely to slip. Check the linked official page in the week before you travel, and book early-season lodging with a flexible cancellation policy.